Lake Cities Education Foundation

2019 LCEF Rosecutting Scholarship Recipients

The Lake Cities Education Foundation was formed in 2000 to assist the students and teachers of the Lake Dallas Independent School District through the awarding of innovative teaching grants and scholarships to graduating seniors of Lake Dallas High School. 

Funds are raised for these grants and scholarships through our annual fundraisers, the Gala and auction held each fall and Memorial Golf Tournament held each summer. However, some family members and friends have also chosen to memorialize their loved ones through permanently endowed scholarships. At Rosecutting 19 years ago, $4,500 in LCEF scholarships were awarded to 9 students. Since then over $407,000 has been awarded to 309 seniors. 


At this year’s Rosecutting, we were thrilled to award 23 deserving members of the Class of 2019 with scholarships totaling $47,500. Please join us in congratulating these scholarship recipients: 

Tonya Lyons Monden Future Educator Scholarship: Ashlynn Pohlmeyer - $1,500

Kent E. Gladen Memorial Scholarship: Morgan Sams - $1,000

CoServ Charitable Foundation Scholarship: Danelle Bennett - $1,000

CoServ Electric Endowed Scholarship: Grace Acuncius - $500

LCEF Board of Directors Scholarship: Jerry “Ryan” Hawley - $1,000

Lake Cities Chamber of Commerce Endowed Scholarship: Sydney Nunley - $500

Lake Cities Education Foundation BOD Scholarship: Blake Frase - $500

George Halley Memorial Endowed Scholarship: Cynthia Harl - $500

Lake Cities Lion Club Scholarship: Rylee Kleam - $500

LDHS PTSA Scholarship in honor of the LDISD Board of Trustees: Kyrstin Lake - $500

VLK Architects in honor of the LDISD Board of Trustees: Cassi Crain - $500

All Sports Booster Club in honor of the LDISD Board of Trustees: Bailey Avila - $500

Class of 2019: Deja Bledsoe - $500

Oakmont Men’s Golf Association Endowed Scholarship: Janae O’Connell - $500

Matthew Web Memorial Endowed Scholarship: Sanjana Mishra - $500

Sawko & Burrows Endowed Scholarship: Francisco Avelino - $700

Jason Powell Memorial Endowed Scholarship: Gabriel Couron - $1,000

Century Link Endowed Scholarship: Mercedes Zaragoza - $1,000

Tyler Morse Memorial Endowed Scholarship: Addison Blevins - $1,800

LCEF BOD: Noah Payne - $4,000

Louis B. Drozd, Jr., Memorial Endowed Scholarship: Elizabeth Gowans - $6,000

Nicholas Hibberd Memorial Endowed Scholarship: Ryan Depperschmidt - $10,500

CW2 Christopher Chabot Martin Memorial Endowed Scholarship: Anna Ruggiere - $12,500

Thank you to everyone who has generously supported the Lake Cities Education Foundation and allowed us to award these scholarships to 23 deserving students. We know their futures are bright, and we are rooting for them every step of the way. 

Competition Arises at Annual Golf Tournament

A few weeks ago, on Monday, June 10, we hosted our 18th annual Lake Cities Education Foundation Memorial Golf Tournament at the Oakmont Country Club. Our annual golf tournament helps to make countless scholarships and grants a reality for our community. As in past years, the golf tournament was a great success and raised considerable funding for deserving students and teachers in our school district. 

Split into morning and afternoon flights, teams of four duked it out using their competitive spirit to win low gross team, longest drive, closest to the pin, and (if applicable) Hole in One. Every did a fantastic job, and we are so thankful for the positive difference you have made in the lives of our students, teachers, and communities. 

Let’s take a moment and celebrate our tournament winners! 

Morning Flight Winners

Huffines Chevrolet Lewisville 1st place AM.jpeg

1st Place: Huffines Chevrolet-Lewisville

Golfers: Ralph Shelton, Jeff McCall, Misty Shelton, & Scott Spiegel

2nd Place: CW 2 Christopher Martin Scholarship

Golfers: Bruce Martin, Allen Judkiewicz, Burton Gilliam, & Jim Custer

American Eagle Harley Davidson team 3rd place AM.jpeg

3rd Place: American Eagle-Harley Davidson

Golfers: Willy Sullivan, Bryan Tines, David Norris, & Michael Norris

Closest to the Pin

Hole 4: Charlie Brown

Hole 8: Ralph Shelton

Hole 12: Wes Eversole

Hole 17: Matt Murray

Ladies’ Longest Drive: Misty Shelton

Men’s Longest Drive: Tim Battle 

Afternoon Flight Winners

1st Place: First United Bank

Golfers: Jay Ross, Brock McKnight, Craig Jones, & Robert Parker

Classic of Denton 2nd place PM.jpeg

2nd Place: Classic of Denton

Golfers: Rick Wick, Don Sterns, Mike Hicks, & Walter Adams

Gary Peppers Team 3rd place PM.jpeg

3rd Place: Gary Peppers State Farm Agency

Golfers: Gary Peppers, Charley Brown, Jake Shockley, & Tommy Rosales

Closet to the Pin: 

Hole 4: Tommy Rosales

Hole 8: Greg Coward

Hole 12: Tanner Deussen

Hole 17: Tanner Deussen

Ladies’ Longest Drive: Jennifer Perry

Men’s Longest Drive: Tommy Rosales

We had a fantastic time with all of our competitors and are so thankful for them as well as the support of our generous sponsors and incredible volunteer team. Thank you, thank you, to everyone who has supported us, near and far. We look forward to sharing the green with you again next year!