Over $45K in Scholarships Awarded to 25 Well-Deserving Students

Eighteen years after its first Rosecutting, the Lake Cities Education Foundation proudly presented $45,500 in scholarship funding to 25-well deserving members of the class of 2018. For the first time in LCEF history, grant recipients were also presented with honor cords. The green and white cords of Lake Dallas High School were intertwined with a blue cord representing Lake Cities Education Foundation. This post will highlight the generous scholarships received by hard working students in our community.            

The Tonya Lyons Monden Future Educator Scholarship was presented by Tonya and Randy Monden and Tonya’s brother, Terry Lyons. It was awarded to Lyons—Baylee Campbell, Livia Dvoracek, and Tori Landrum, at $1,500 each. The $1,000 Kent E. Gladen Memorial Scholarship, was presented by Debbie Gladen and her sons Sam, Miles, and Tommy to Bailey Dolezalek. Carrie Thomas, who serves as the CoServ Community Relations Senior Specialist, presented the $1,000 CoServ Charitable Foundation Scholarship to Jared Mayfield.

The $500 Lake Dallas High School Quarterback Club Scholarship, awarded in Honor of Coach Kent Gladen, was presented Robert Venegas. Sarah Dunn received the $500 CoServ Electric Endowed Scholarship. Mariyah James was awarded a $500 Lake Cities Chamber of Commerce Endowed Scholarship. Four recipients were granted $500 Lake Cities Education Foundation BOD Scholarships, Brandie Brown, Mallory Klingele, Daniela Martinez, and  Adelyn Smith.

Established 5 years ago in honor of generous and long-time LCEF supporter, George Halley, The George Halley Memorial Endowed Scholarship was presented to Morgan Helixon in the amount of $500. Kara Chidester was the proud recipient of the $500 Corinth Elementary PTA and LDHS PTSA Scholarship, granted in honor of the LDISD Board of Trustees. The $500 Lake Cities Lions Club Scholarship was received by Natalie Price. Blake Henson received a $600 Oakmont Men’s Golf Association Endowed Scholarship.

Established in memory of Matt Webb, a 1998 Lake Dallas High School graduate who was killed in a tragic tanker truck accident in November of 2007, the $600 Matthew Webb Memorial Endowment was given to Hannah Salas. Carleigh Engel was the recipient of a $700 Sawko & Burrows Endowed Scholarship. The Jason Powell Memorial Endowed Scholarship, established by the family and friends of Lake Dallas High School graduate Jason Powell, was received by Zachary Sasser in the amount of $1,000.

Ryan Villareal received the $1,000 Century Link Endowed Scholarship. The Lake Cities Directors Endowed Scholarship, an endowment established by the LCEF Board of Directors from the proceeds of the annual golf tournament was awarded to Maggie Kelley in the amount of $2,000. The Tyler Morse Memorial Endowed Scholarship was established by family and friends to honor musician and 2004 graduate of Lake Dallas High School, Tyler Morse. Thomas Bergeron received the $1,600 scholarship.

Walker Weber received the $6,000 Louis B. Drozd, Jr., Memorial Endowed Scholarship. This scholarship was established by family and friends of longtime Lake Dallas resident and business owner, Louis B. Drozd, Jr. Mr. Drozd served on the Lake Dallas ISD Board of Trustees for over 17 years.

The Nicholas Hibberd Memorial Endowed Scholarship was established by family and friends to honor 1997 Lake Dallas High School Graduate, Nicholas Hibberd, whose life was cut tragically short in December of 2002 in an aviation accident. In 2003, the LCEF Golf Tournament was renamed the Nicholas Hibberd Memorial Tournament, in memory of Nicholas. The LCEF tournament has continued to add to this endowment. In his honor and memory, the Nicholas Hibberd Memorial Endowed Scholarship in the amount of $9,000 was awarded to Greelie Bauman.

Former Board Member Bruce Martin presented the final scholarship of the evening, the $12,000 CW2 Christopher Chabot Martin Memorial Endowed Scholarship to Abbey Harrison.